HCAN Announces New Board Members and Staff

(Honolulu, HI October 9, 2017) – Hawaii Children’s Action Network (HCAN) announces the appointment of its new Board President, four new Directors to its Board of Directors and one new staff member.

Dean Wong serves as the new Board President, replacing President Mark M. Murakami, Esq., a partner at Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert, whose term ended. Wong is the Executive Director of Imua Family and Services, a nonprofit that provides therapeutic services for special needs children on Maui.

"I am excited to lead an organization that is uniting nonprofits, businesses, corporations and communities on all islands to be bolder, more unified and stronger advocates for Hawaii’s children and families,” said Wong.

The new Director appointments are:

Erica Yamauchi - Social Marketing Director for Kaeru Services, Hawaii Department of Health, Child and Adolescent Mental Health Division

Sione Thompson - Executive Director, Hawaii State Public Charter School Commission Makana McClellan - Public Information Officer, The Queen’s Health Systems

Daphne Tong-Pave - co-founder, Holomua Consulting Group, LLC

Mandy Finlay joins the staff as a Director of Public Policy, where she is responsible for developing policy campaigns and participating in, and leading coalitions regarding children and family issues. Prior to HCAN, Finlay served as the chief lobbyist for the American Civil Liberties Union of Hawaii. She earned a J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center.

“As a grassroots organization, we are honored when leaders in our community choose to serve Hawaii’s children and families through Hawaii Children’s Action Network. The addition of a new Director of Public Policy before the 2018 legislative session is critical to successfully executing our mission,” said Executive Director, Deborah Zysman.

HCAN would like to thank outgoing President Mark M. Murakami, Esq., for his leadership and continued support of Hawaii’s neediest families and children. Murakami has been a member of HCAN’s Board since 2011 and continues to serve as a Director.

The 2017-2018 Board of Directors are: President, Dean Wong; Immediate Past President, Mark M. Murakami, Esq.; Vice President, David Okumura; Vice President, Erica Yamauchi; Vice President, Deborah Zysman; Treasurer, Tracy Nakashima; Secretary, Chris Jackson; David Gaudi, Ed.D; Travis Hong, M.D.; Darin Leong, Esq.; Makana McClellan; David Randall; Jennifer Thompson; Sione Thompson; Daphne Tong-Pave.

About the Hawaii Children’s Action Network

The Hawaii Children’s Action Network (HCAN) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, non-partisan organization. It is the only non-profit in the state solely committed to educating and advocating for children. For more information, visit www.hawaii-can.org.